Japan Haul!

For my first post ever, I wanted to share my Japan haul! I recently went on a short vacation to Japan as a Graduation + Birthday gift from my family. Obviously, shopping was on the top of my to do list! I visited places where one must shop in Tokyo, namely, Harajuku, Shibuya, and Shinjuku! If you guys want, I can also do a blog post of tips and tricks to remember when shopping in Tokyo! But first, let’s go through the haul!

*Note: I included prices of the items I bought, but most of them are prices without tax (w/o tax) as indicated. Thank you!

Red Checkered Top: The Silhouette, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku; Denim Circle Skirt: WEGO, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku

First things first are clothing items that I got. This コーデ (read as ko-de), the Japanese version of #ootd, that I styled consist of pieces from Takeshita Dori. Checkered tops were very in when I was in Japan for girls, or guys, to tie around their waist. I got this top from a shop called The Silhouette and it cost me 1,900 Yen (w/o tax). The denim skirt was from WEGO, a very popular shop in Japan. In Harajuku alone, there would be around 3-5 branches present! What makes WEGO so popular is that they offer an array of items from clothes, shoes, and accessories without having to sacrifice a large amount of money. This skirt that I got costs 1,998 Yen (w/o tax) only!

Black and White Striped Top: Monki, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku Black High waisted Shorts: WEGO, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku
Black and White Striped Top: Monki, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku; Black High waisted Shorts: WEGO, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku

Next コーデ consist of pieces still from Harajuku. Given that October was already Autumn season, most tops that were sold in Japan were already sweaters, which wouldn’t really mix well with the hot weather here in Manila. I was lucky enough to find this T-shirt from Monki, a brand from Europe I think, with the affordable price of 1,200 Yen (w/ tax) only!!! I’ve bought stuff from Monki before, and I could tell you that their quality is on point. I can imagine myself wearing this shirt abusively without fail, with different styles of course. Next is this lovely shorts from WEGO. I cannot emphasize enough how perfect it is! It cinches at the waist so it won’t go down, but the leg holes are wide and airy that you can move around freely. I don’t have skinny legs honestly, that’s why I was so happy to have found this pair while I was looking around! Though not as cheap as the skirt I also got from WEGO (Shorts were at 3,132 Yen with tax), I could not pass them up!

Black and White Striped Top: Monki, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku; Black Pants: Bershka, Shibuya
Black and White Striped Top: Monki, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku; Black Pants: Bershka, Shibuya

Here’s another コーデ I styled with the same shirt but with different bottoms. I have been on the hunt for PERFECT BLACK SKINNY JEANS that wouldn’t feel too constraining on my legs. Even though we have Bershka here in the Philippines, I still wanted to visit the branch in Shibuya. Just as I entered the store, I saw the pair and immediately brought it to the dressing room. The fit was amazing! It fits the waist nicely, as well as my hips. And with this pair, I can get to move around freely as well without having to fuss that it’s too tight or the materials itchy on the skin. They were only 3,834 Yen (w/ tax), which is less than half of the price if I were to buy a pair from a different store I will not name because I still love that brand haha!

Black and White Plaid Dress: (m e), Harajuku Dori, Harajuku
Black and White Plaid Dress: (m e), Harajuku Dori, Harajuku

Probably my favorite find in Harajuku is this dress. This baby doll dress looks so adorable on especially with the short *almost* puff sleeves and its collar. I probably saw this first at a store in Takeshita Dori, but didn’t buy it immediately because I was hesitant of the length of the dress (Asian dresses are mostly too short for me), and I knew that other stores would be selling it as well but for a cheaper or more expensive price. (m e) is a store that I really like, and you really have to walk around Harajuku Dori to find this store. It was only in (m e) that I found this dress with the cheapest price! It was 2,600 Yen (w/o tax) only. Other stalls priced this dress starting from 3,000 Yen (w/o tax). If you want to look stylish without having to put much effort to it, then this dress is perfect for you!

White Bag: Bershka, Shibuya; Black Flats: MiG+, Shinjuku; Black Beanie: Marché, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku; Earrings: WEGO, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku
White Bag: Bershka, Shibuya; Black Flats: MiG+, Shinjuku; Black Beanie: Marché, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku; Earrings: WEGO, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku

I also bought accessories that I’ve been searching for for so long. I was lucky to have found these items in Japan, and really didn’t second guess buying them. First is the White Bag from Bershka, which is just the perfect size for an everyday companion. It may not be able to fit my umbrella, but the essentials could. It has one zipper pocket inside for you to keep small things that might easily get lost inside our bags or private things that we don’t want other people seeing at first glance inside your bag. Next are the Black Flats from a store called MiG+ in a mall in Shinjuku. It was probably the luckiest find I got. From 2,149 Yen (w/ tax), I only paid 1,649 Yen! This store had a promo ongoing that if you buy 2 pairs of shoes, each pair receives a 500 Yen discount. I had friends with me at that time, and we didn’t pass up the opportunity. Long story short, we ended up happy haha. The next find was this black beanie that I’ve been wanting for so long! Marché is a shop in Takeshita Dori that offers different accessories like hats, bags, wallets, and such. I personally like this shop because their prices are quite lower compared to other stores. I bought the beanie for only 1,000 Yen (w/o tax), which was cheaper compared to ones sold in other stores.

Earrings: WEGO, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku
Earrings: WEGO, Takeshita Dori, Harajuku

Lastly I bought these earrings from WEGO for only 300 Yen (w/o tax) for both pairs already! I really like buying earrings from WEGO because they’re cheap and stylish. These dainty earrings are perfect to wear casually or even for formal events. If you happen to visit WEGO, be sure to check our their earrings and enjoy picking from the different designs offered.

Socks: WEGO, Tutu Anna, Coup De Main
Socks: WEGO, Tutu Anna, Coup De Main

What would be a trip to Japan without having to buy socks from different stores. Stores like Tutu Anna offer a special promo where in you can buy ANY THREE SOCKS/TIGHTS for the price of 1,000 Yen (w/o tax). This means that you can get knee high socks, ankle socks, and black tights for the price of 1,000 Yen (w/o tax) only! I wanted to buy ankle socks I could use with my New Balance Sneakers, as I think longer socks are harder for me to style with them. I also got socks from WEGO (all three socks at the left side) with a promo of buying 3 pairs for 900 Yen (w/o tax). I got them to pair with the new black shoes I bought.

This haul wouldn’t be complete without an issue of non-no magazine. What I love about Japanese fashion magazines is that they include freebies like tote bags, purses, tights, and whatever it is they want to include. For the December 2014 issue, they included tights in partnership with Lowrys Farm. non-no is a magazine that I would forever pick up from a bookstore if I were to live in Japan. I personally relate to the コーデ in this magazine that’s why I love it so much.

That’s all for my Japan Haul! I’m really appreciative if you took your time to read through this blog post. I’ll do my best to provide good and consistent content for this blog. Comment down below for your thoughts, ideas, suggestions and such!

x Jam x

Email: iamjamtan@gmail.com

Instagram: @iamjamtan

4 thoughts on “Japan Haul!

Leave a Reply

